Our Contributors

Tanya, Editor in Chief

I’m a 37 year old Gryffindor from Massachusetts. Come on, that part about being a Gryffindor is important. It’s like the most important thing you can know about me. Writing bios is the worst but I’ll give it a shot. Things I like: I like art a lot but really only the modern stuff because all that French impressionist crap was ugly AF. I love writing the feminist things for this website and hanging out with my bomb ass friends. I like all kinds of music except country because no. Just no. I’m deeply appalled by Trump and everyone who voted for Trump or anyone who’s still supporting Trump. He’s disgusting. My father was Puerto Rican and I like to cook PR food and drown it in Adobo. I love Michelle Obama, JK Rowling, and JLo, possibly in that order.


 

Screen%20Shot%202015-04-29%20at%203_11_56%20PMAlex Velazquez, Associate Editor

I am a Mexico born writer, photographer, movie obsessed, lady loving, tattooed animal lover. I’ve lived in Los Angeles since I was 8 years old, I’m now 29 and I’m in love with this city. I am an aspiring screenwriter/Director, I have an obsessive fascination with controversial books and film. If they’ve been banned at some point, I want to read them. I wholeheartedly believe that love and kindness are the ultimate keys to happiness. Music is my mistress. I also love food and coffee.



IMG_3555A.P. Scheiderer, Associate Editor 

Born and bred Wisconsinite living in Minneapolis, MN. Has been known to spend very necessary amounts of money on extra sharp cheddar, brats, and beer. B.A. degree from the University of Minnesota Duluth in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Passionate for talking about intersectionality and not wearing pants, preferably simultaneously. Embroiderer. Earth sign. Feminist. Friend.


 Danielle,  Associate Editor 

30. Massachusetts. Mental health professional. Hufflepuff.
Likes: My wife, my cats, my friends/family, queer things, feminism, television, books, fan fiction, cupcakes.
Dislikes: Trump, ignorance, spiders, and those scary things that grow on potatoes.

Headshot (Iovannone)Jeffry Iovannone, PhD, Associate Editor

I’m queer feminist scholar-activist, who has a PhD in American Studies. My interests lie primarily within LGBTQ studies and the history of social justice movements. I also like yoga, vegetarian cooking, and have more books than I know what to do with.


384783_10200629158949309_28922910_nAlexis Record, Senior Writer

I am a feminist and an advocate for those with special needs and lower socioeconomic status. Among our homeless population here in San Diego I am known as Backpack Lady. Currently I’m a mother to three children with Arthrogryposis Multiplex Congenita (AMC) through adoption and the foster system. I’ve written a children’s book called Different Like Me highlighting AMC in hopes to spread awareness of this severe physical condition, and the needs of people with this condition around the world.


 

BlackbirdBlackbirdEvolution, Senior Writer

I’m a pale white kid who grew up in the suburbs of Buffalo, NY so I know a thing or two about snow, chicken wings, and being fiercely loyal to generally terrible sports teams. I’m a social worker, feminist, partner, and mom. This makes for some interesting stories to share here.


 

??????????????????????????????? Amber Hathaway, Contributor

I was born and raised in Maine and love my state, but I do not like snow (except for in those rare instances in which it cancels classes).  I am a graduate student studying physics and hold an MA in Mathematics and a BA in Mathematics with a second major in Women’s Studies and minors in Physics and Ethics and Social and Political Philosophy.  I am a co-chair of my campus feminist organization.  I spend my free time writing horror, reading, crafting, and spending time with my wonderful partner.  I also have a strong interest in history and genealogy and during the summer I will occasionally head outside long enough to scour local cemeteries and town offices for information about my ancestors.


DSC_1300 (1)Alexandra O’Sullivan, Contributor

I’m a modern day Daisy Miller. I wear my brands on the inside and my body hair on the outside. I’m in love with classic literature that is bubbling with resentment about the oppression of women before the oppression of women was being acknowledged as a thing. I’m a solo mother living in Melbourne, Australia. I grew up riding horses in country NSW and went on to have a disastrously injury prone career as a jumps jockey, before having my son and completing a BA in Media Communications, Literature and Creative Writing. I still ride horses whenever I can, but more often now I write about riding horses. I write articles, fiction and creative non-fiction.


e745dcb5-f9c9-4ab7-a256-f8710f1c4074Jonathan G, Contributor

I’m a 24 year old intersectional feminist with a strong affinity for pop music. When I’m not bopping around in my room to sweet tunes, I am probably getting my daily dose of my favorite YouTube personalities. With a BA in English (Literature, and Rhetoric and Composition) and a minor in Communication Studies, I recognize the importance of words and try to use mine to make the world a better place.


untitledNicole, Contributor
I am an American expat living in Sweden who is fueled by 30% tequila, 30% coffee and 40% sarcasm. I am a language lover, a coffee consumer, a gadget geek, a sushi snob, and an alliteration admirer. I have a black belt in eye rolling & I’m not afraid to use it.


unnamed (5)Amanda Shepard, Contributor

Born and raised in Western Michigan, I recently completed my M.A in Children’s and Young Adult Literature from Central Michigan University and have been struggling existentially with where the next step in life is going to take me. I spend my time reading, perusing the young adult section in Barnes and Noble, binging the latest Netflix show, and posting way too many pictures of my cat on Instagram. I can usually be found in the nearest coffee shop, absorbing way too much caffeine.


unnamed-6Kate Earley, Contributor

I’m your typical feminist killjoy with a love of public affairs and politics. When I’m not working PR, you’ll probably find me advocating and trying to avoid garbage fires online, organizing in my community, or watching Jessica Jones. I got my B.A. in Political Science and a minor in Sociology a few days after I turned 18. Most of my writing will center around the emotional/personal side of sexual assault, since I’m a survivor, but you’ll always catch a few rants about mental health due to my firsthand experience with PTSD, bipolar II, and a dissociative disorder.


Maureen Whitcomb, Contributor

I am a New York State-born writer, activist, feminist, and crafter with an affinity for challenging norms, engaging in difficult conversations, and drinking too much coffee. I am most passionate about prisoner justice, prison abolition, and body politics. I enjoy pondering about the interconnectivity among people and identities, meditating, hanging out with my awesomely creative and hilarious son, and reading science fiction and fantasy.


Tori Bilcik, Contributor

I’m a 21-year-old recent college graduate with a major in journalism and a minor in women’s, gender, and sexuality studies. I’m still learning the ins and outs of being an intersectional feminist and ally, and I hope to always be learning and listening. There are few things I care about more than writing, traveling, activism, human rights, education, and the arts. When I’m not at a punk show or wandering aimlessly around Boston, you can probably find me curled up with my cat, drinking some kind of tea, and/or binge-watching Netflix originals.


Sara Vlemmings, Contributor

Born and raised Dutch queer 24-year-old. Currently studying Public Administration with which I hope to help those groups that need it most and make at least part of the Netherlands more equal. I tend to open my mouth when I shouldn’t and annoy people with my feminism. I’m very political for someone who has yet to join a political party. Massive bookworm, television show addict, both cat and dog person, and all around nerd. Lipstick enthusiast and hobby baker and cook.


Amanda Moser, Contributor

I’m a 30 year old mover and shaker from Austin, Texas. I grew up in the military and have moved… a lot. Because of this I can make friends with a tree. Don’t look at me like that, George is lovely. I’m a believer in therapy and dancing and humor and following your dreams. Life is too short to be bogged down by “shoulds.”  I’m a momma to two furry babies and if I didn’t know it was impossible I would swear that I’d birthed them from my loins.
I love learning about world-wide issues — and researching them obsessively. I’m currently knee-deep in postcapitalism and economic recessions. I’m passionate about, and can usually be overheard discussing, intersectional feminism, political protests, LGBTQ issues, race relations, and solo traveling. I want to go everywhere and see everything. I love David Bowie. I really love David Bowie. I’ll probably talk a lot about David Bowie. You’ve been warned.

 


Kate Harveston, Contributor 

I’m 22 years old and interested in anything related to social justice and human rights. I’m originally from Williamsport, Pennsylvania and I’m in a very committed relationship with iced coffee. My hobbies include exploring new cities, curling up with a good book, and teaching Zumba fitness classes. You’ll frequently find me ranting about the patriarchy– hopefully you’ll find my ranting to be thought-inspiring and unique.


Tanya M, Contributor 

A queer feminist who has lived, worked, and studied in Ukraine, China, Ethiopia, and the UK with the love for Colorado mountains, climbing them, and discussing how to make our world a better place. Holds an MA in International Relations and mostly uses it to share fun international facts with strangers at parties.


 

 

Want to be a contributor? Check out our FAQ. If you would like to join our awesome team of writers, email us at [email protected] This is a labor of love. We don’t pay but if you feel like you have ideas to contribute and want to share them, holla at us. We believe diversity strengthens our team and encourage people of all backgrounds to apply.